Experimenting with Tissuetex

Seabed is a small piece - base of tissuetex with shiva stik applied too.

Seabed is a small piece - base of tissuetex with shiva stik applied too.

I will have to buy shares in Tissuetex ’cause it has become a favourite
medium to use. This tissuetex piece was sprayed with
Moonshadow, scunched whilst wet and left to dry overnight (whilst still
in a tight ball). It produced amazing organic lines so I then used
asqua shiva stik, backed it with purchased blue leaf fabric (and felt)
so that the blue leaves show through, stitched on machine with Superior
metallic thread (gorgeous stuff), then couched yarn. A hilight of
silk paper was added to be a feature. I am very pleased with the
result. Love to know what you think.

8 Responses to Experimenting with Tissuetex

  1. Kaite says:

    beautiful organic lines throughout, it looks very ‘pattable’. Great colour too.

  2. Cath says:

    Pamela – I love looking on your blog. This is such interesting stuff!! I really like the effect of doing so much to this piece that only a trained eye (with the help of an expressive blog!) would know how you did it!

  3. Nola says:

    Love the richness of it! Do you have a plan for it? It cries out to be used somehow.

  4. Pamela says:

    Nola, I am waiting for a serendipity moment to translate this little piece into something beautiful and practical….it might become incorporated into a bag – once I return from Orange Forum (Isobel Hall’s fibre bag WS) this autumn. Tissuetex, the base of my little piece, is divine stuff to work with, its tuff and gentle all in one. Pamela

  5. peggy says:

    Where can I buy Tissuetex

  6. Pamela says:

    Peggy,
    My tissuetex was purchased on-line from http://www.thethreadstudio.com who sell a wonderful array of fibre art products. Husband /wife ownership and being based in Perth. I have found them to be quick in mailing products and very helpful with questions. Dale’s Ratty Tatty on-line course opened my eyes to a lot of products they sell and how to use them. Hope this helps.

  7. Kim Young says:

    I love it…very, very creative. I have some tissuetex but I’m not sure what to do with it yet.

  8. Pamela says:

    Thnks Kim for your appreciative comments. Enjoy experimenting with tissuetex – it is quite strong and easy to work with.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

