Bridges of the Hunter exhibition in June 2014

Felted "stones" and other textural mediaIMG_2229IMG_2234IMG_2233

Preparing for an exhibition “Bridges of the Hunter” with my local textile group (Daughters on Dowling) I decided on a few different approaches.   Our exhibition is under the auspices of the Dungog Art Society and Arts Upper Hunter.

First job … sketch ideas, based on my photo of Cooreei Bridge which leads into my town of Dungog.    Thinking about the textures and shapes, I set to work creating felted “river rocks”.

As the black and white photo showed up the structure of the bridge and surrounds so well, I decided upon making my art piece in black and white – wow, a new experience for me especially as I love colour in all its glory.

These images show my early progress with this piece.

 

IMG_2232

 

 

One Response to Bridges of the Hunter exhibition in June 2014

  1. gonerustic says:

    Looks really great – love the textures! =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

