Finished 12.10.09 – My art-quilt based on a photo around the stunning ARKAROOLA in South Australia.

Reflections surrounding Arkaroola

Reflections surrounding Arkaroola

Following a recent workshop tutored by the lovely Caroline Sharkey, I decided that it was time for “bum down – head up” at home – forget the dishes, shopping, housework (well as much as I could get away with) – and…… I am pretty pleased with the result that came from my sewing room. Using one of my photographs taken at Arkaroola during last year’s visit, I cut lots of my hand-dyed fabrics into tiny snippets and after some playing around with fabrics and water, this is what I produced.

It’s not perfect I know – but at least I am working towards achieving the impressionistic perspective that I so much love.

More practice is needed….so watch this space, and see how my talents grow. I hope to not disappoint you (or myself).

3 Responses to Finished 12.10.09 – My art-quilt based on a photo around the stunning ARKAROOLA in South Australia.

  1. Kaite says:

    It looks very complex Pamela, and i love the colour combos. The workshop must have been a good one. I’m not feeling disappointed so far. K.

  2. Lin Wilson says:

    Hi Pamela,

    Your Arkaroola quilt captures the essence of that part of Australia with your wonderful use of colour. I love it, Lin

  3. Cath Daniels says:

    Pamela I am always so impressed with your work. Every time I come back to this blog and read up all the many entries I’ve missed since last opening it – the changes to your work are just so incredible. Your Arkaroola quilt is just wonderful, and I especially love the complexity of the quilt you made during Caroline Sharkey’s workshop – truly outstanding, that I can only be jealous! It’s so wonderful to see your talent go from strength to strength.

Leave a Reply

