Rusting – batch number 2

Recent sweltering weather provided the ideal climate to batch another load of rusting fabric. 

Look what happens 4 days after being wrapped in plastic and left for nature to guide the rusting process.   Unwrapped and ready for washing, this bundle produced mysterious marks.    Please come back to visit in a couple of days time to see the result!   I wasn’t disappointed – so I don’t think you will be either. 

All wrapped and nowhere to hide!

2 Responses to Rusting – batch number 2

  1. Erica says:

    Hi Pamela, did you wrap the fabric around the rusty metal or soak it in rusty water, I’ve had great results by wetting the fabric in a water/vinegar solution then either wrapping it around metal or wrapping small pieces of metal with the fabric. I also did a little research on rusting after commenters on my blog asked questions, you might be interested:
    http://dragonfragments.blogspot.com/2007/11/thoughts-on-rusting-fabrics.html
    http://dragonfragments.blogspot.com/2007/03/rusted-fabric.html
    I’ll be interested to see what you do with your pieces, I found I really loved mine on their own and had problems thinking of a way to use them.

  2. Pamela says:

    Hi Erica,
    I wrapped the salted metal around vinegar soaked fabric making sure it was fairly wet. I will be posting some more pics of Rusty outcomes later today. Thanks for referring me to your blog…I will be looking. On a previous occasion I used rusty pieces in my fabric Postcards…..they worked well when combined. Unfortunately the postcards have been mailed out, so I cant show you a copy. Must make more!!!
    Pamela

Leave a Reply

