Beading Journal Project – January 2010

Beading is an enchanting activity – I find it very soothing for the soul and calming to my nature.

My purchase of a delightful book authored by Robin Atkins ” Heart to Hands Bead Embroidery” provides fresh ideas and techniques for creating art with beads – this rekindled my wish to bead.   AND….I joined an on-line challenge with the Beading Journal Project.  

Each month we produce one beaded piece of work.   The challenge is with ourselves, to create something new or different with the aim of developing beading skill and ability, and of course to enjoy doing this work and sharing with fellow members of this group.   The one and only “rule” is that I had to decide on a particular size or mode to focus each monthly challenge –  I selected Postcards for my monthly challenge.  

January was a busy month as I was busy organising a  workshop program for ATASDA NSW group – 20 exciting workshops in fact!  Details will soon be available on the ATASDA website to whet the creative appetites of members and interested non-members.  

 

Circling around

Hanger on

Hanger on

As a result of this time restriction for my challenge, I made two postcards using similar beads and an ad hoc approach to the beading. 

 The background was created by stamped acryilic paint, silk and cotton fabrics, and self-made fabric from yarns sewn on Solvy,  before the addition of simple beading to provide a focal point of interest.  I can’t decide which I like best to include in my BJP challenge!   What do you think – which one appeals most to you, and why?  I welcome your thoughts if you care to drop me a line.

5 Responses to Beading Journal Project – January 2010

  1. Erica says:

    Pamela, I love the top one. The blue stamping appeals to me and there’s something about curved lines of stitching that soothes.

  2. Pamela says:

    Thanks Erica for your comments which instantly brought back childhood memories of nights sailing South Aust.seas. The repetive movement of being lifted up and over the curvy waves created such soothing sleeps.

  3. Kaite says:

    hi Pamela, i’m with Erica, i find the top one very soothing. Movement with bicycle wheels and waves, gentle circling around. Thanks for sharing them. Kaite

  4. Brenda says:

    Hi Pamela – I left a comment earlier. Perhaps it was diverted to spam? Anyway, I’m with Kaite and Erica. I love the limited palette and the composition of Circling Around. It would fit right in with the next Twelve by Twelve Colorplay challenge – blue & white with a dash of black 🙂

  5. Pamela says:

    Thanks Brenda. That’s 3 out of 3 with this choice! I will check my spam to see if I can find you there. Your colorplay challenge will be an intriguing time.

Leave a Reply

