Discovering the power of COLOUR

My quilt "Rosalie" is dedicated to my teacher Rosalie Dace.Label made for "Rosalie" quilt - calico painted with Jo Sonja acrylics and fabric medium.The more I know about colour, the more I want to make further discoveries. It is a time in my creative life where I want to dedicate myself to exploring all the possibilities that colour brings to our world. Colour represents life with its myriads of tones and the emotions that are aroused.

In February this year I stated this quilt at Rosalie Dace’s Colour 2-day workshop – it came home with me measuring about 8 inches square. As you can see it has grown to about 2 feet square, having worked on it until I felt pretty happy with the result.
I welcome hearing your reactions to my “Rosalie” quilt.

I have included a small pic of my hand painted quilt label.

7 Responses to Discovering the power of COLOUR

  1. kaite says:

    did you do that wonderfully vibrant piece Pamela? it’s so alive it sings to me. Where did you start…where is the original 8″ square piece?
    hugz, kaite

  2. Maz says:

    Wonderful Pamela, love your use of colour. I, like Kaite, would love to see where you started ie the 8″ original square. The study of colour is fascinating and also the pyschology (sic) of colour if you are interested. Maz

  3. Pamela says:

    Thanks for your comments Maz. The 2-day WS was split into 2 days of exercises, day 2 starting the quilt. I came home with the light & mid-tone yellow squares with some of the surrounds created, ready to finish at home. The psychology of colour is so so intriguing. Think of your favourite colour (today) and then your most disliked colour – and feel the emotions these arouse. A good exercise is to undertake a little exercise using paper or fabric, utilising these two colours to create a simple abstract piece. Fascinating!!

  4. suzy quaife says:

    Hello Pamela
    This is my first visit to your blog. Your work is really interesting! I think colour is my most driving force to keep creating and how to combine colours in my works. I think I will try the little exercise above and see what happens! I also like your label on the little quilt of which the fabrics are working well!
    Suzy

  5. suzy quaife says:

    Love your Fun Time Art Quilt!

  6. Pamela says:

    Thanks for your comments Suzy. Yes, the world of colour is fascinating and there is so much to discover. Good luck with your explorations & enjoy them.
    Pamela in Sydney

  7. This piece delights me everytime I look at it: I’m lucky enough to have it hanging in my house. Love your work, Pamela!

Leave a Reply

