A little taste of Shibori

Barbara Schey, a Shibori guru, acquainted me with the craft of Shibori at a one-day Taster workshop conducted by ATASDA NSW at Epping.

I left home with very little knowledge of Shibori, knowing it had something to do with string and tying things up in bundles! Well, was I in for a surprize. There are so many techniques involved in Shibori applications, and my day concentrated mainly on discharge techniques.

Look at these, my very first samples, using discharge methods on cotton voile and silk organza fabrics.
This weekend I’m off to local hardware and plumbing stores to acquire “tools of the trade” for Shibori experimenting in my own backyard.

Apologies for the double images – my blogging skills don’t match up to even my new Shibori skills.

One Response to A little taste of Shibori

  1. This taster workshop looked fabulous. Shame I was in New Zealand at the time…

Leave a Reply

