A new direction to start the year 2011

It is time to develop my sketching skills.   Having purchased this book last month, I have been saving it for 1 January 2011.

T’s time to take time to develop my sketching skills – decided I need help.   This little gem of a book – The Drawing Lab – is to be my guide.  

The first of 52 exercises got me off to just the right start…..by creating my first sketches whilst perched in bed, yes that’s right, in bed.  Pillows surrounding my pad and pen, and so I was off and away.   30 sketches of cats was needed.  Here are a few of my earlier ones, and a “better” one.   I am trying not to judge – especially when some these sketches were drawn with my non-dominant hand.     

I reckon I didn’t jump out of my mother’s womb and know how to drive!   And at school I never felt I was any good at drawing or art-work.  So here I am, now in my mature years,  taking time out to push my drawing skills along.  

Whatever you are doing to help your creative spirit along at this beginning of a new decade, I wish you good luck and enjoy the ride!

 

One Response to A new direction to start the year 2011

  1. kaite says:

    hi Pamela, it’s a funny thing about school sketching, many kids were frightened off it at school, including me. good on you for pursuing it. k.

Leave a Reply

