Riso screen printing, paints & fabric

Working once again with paints and fabric, this quilt was created as an escape from our summer heat.   Being a quieter time of the year with minimal commitments, I took the opportunity to learn how to use a Riso screen.   I included my first attempt in this quilt – a photo I took near Arkaroola was used to screen print the image.  Can you pick it?

Creating this piece aroused memories of flying over outback Australia, which occurred quite regularly during my earlier life living in Adelaide S.A.

Interestingly, my friends all “see” something different from its imagery.   No surprises though that many thought of an aerial perspective, or viewing a map.     During the time I made this quilt, I was reading about the Flinders Ranges and once again was struck by the ruggedness of its rocky backdrop formed millions of years ago, its particular vegetation suitable for dry climates,  and its people of the land.

5 Responses to Riso screen printing, paints & fabric

  1. Erica says:

    That’s an interesting piece Pamela. Did you make your own screen?

  2. Pamela says:

    Thanks for your comments Erica. I made my own screen using the Riso method. It was my lucky day when a colleague donated the equipment to me, so I llearnt by the book that came in the box. Took quite a big of thinking through and then some diving in. Quite happy with my early productions. Definitely will do more in the future.

  3. kaite says:

    very interesting effect there Pamela, worth exploring more of in the future.
    BTW, if you still have “minimal commitments” would you care to join in with the flood QAYG block making? I’d love you to make 4 x 10.5 inch blocks (cotton batting) to be included in a quilt for Emerald in Queensland. The girls there are trying to make a quilt for every household that was inundated, it’s a mighty task. cheers, kaite

  4. Pamela says:

    Very happy to make a few and send them to you. Am also making a whole bed quilt to donate to another charity.

  5. kaite says:

    thankyou Pamela, they will be well received. I’d like to put together a flood quilt out of entirely donated blocks, as i will have done the equivalent of 4 quilts by the end of this weekend. i’ll blog about it tonight. cheers, k.

Leave a Reply

