Experiments with natural dyes

image

 

Whilst literature has introduced me to the mysterious craft of dyeing with plant material, it is the experimenting that has brought satisfying results.  Along the way came disappointments …. But then some mind blowing results traversed my way.

These prints on silk are my latest results, using in the main, eucalyptus leaves from my garden;  also walnut leaves(3rd photo) given to me by a friend.

Love to hear your reaction to these.

image

image

6 Responses to Experiments with natural dyes

  1. Jennifer says:

    I like the 2nd and third one’s best, especially the 2nd for their colours. The first one is very subtle with interesting texture and colours. Strangely (or not) it makes me think of cobwebs!

  2. Beautiful prints. Could you tell a little about the method you chose?

  3. mary stori says:

    WOW….you are getting great results……my efforts are still not satisfactory…..beginning to think part of the issue is the plant materials I’ve used…..no wonderful eucalyptus around here!

  4. Pamela says:

    Gurli, I have emailed you directly in response to your question.

  5. Pamela says:

    Hi Mary, thanks for your comment. The eucalypts here seem to work best. Our garden has a euc. With abnormally large leaves. Also a recently planted E.cineraria is a good resource too. Perhaps you could ask a local florist for leftover leaves, as 3. Cinpneraria is a florists favourite, at least in Aust. Keep experimenting as this process is hit & miss, I find. Good luck.

  6. Pamela says:

    Hi Jennifer, thanks for your thoughts on these. Sometimes it is difficult to get good photos of silk due to reflected light…a challenge for this amateur photographer! I am looking forward to developing my practices further. All in good time!

Leave a Reply

