Felt good!

Feeling good about the test samples I have hand  felted, it felt right to start a large wall hanging.  Here’s a sneak peak of some of my work before wet-felting and fulling took place.

image

Set-up to make the right table height was imperative to avoid neglecting my body.  Laying out five layers of rovings took its toll and I felt the strain on my legs from hours and hours of standing.

Here’s a pic of of my foundation work for this piece.

image

It was then topped with coloured wool and silk rovings and yarns to loosely create a landscape image,  based on Dungog’s hills and nature.  The clocked ticked away!

It has been fully wet-felted and is now resting (me too) and drying out so that the next stage ….. stitching, can then be worked.

One Response to Felt good!

  1. sarah says:

    the start of an exciting project.. how wonderful

Leave a Reply

