Felting matters.

Why does felting matter to me?  I find it is a wonderful tactile medium to express my love of Australia’s landscape.

Scorching January summer days spent in my home studio had my hands immersed in sumptuous softness of wool and silk fibres.  My attraction to our landscape was put to work – via a process that involves wool fleece, silk, water, soap & lots of friction.

Observing what is occurring to the fibres as they are being handled during rolling is necessary, whilst also being relaxing to the mind.  I am grateful for learning the skill of wet-felting from Newcastle’s felt master, Giselle Penn at a Timeless Textiles workshop.

Over the years my collection of merino fleece has grown. Since moving from city to country my “wool bank” has grown to include Corriedale, Blue Leicester, Alpaca, and other intriguing fibres.

Here is a glimpse of the beginnings of my felted wall art piece.  More work now being done to bring this piece to the finish line.  I’ll be back.

img_1818

Leave a Reply

